A magical visit to The Magical Town of Crickadoon

watercolour capturing the light of Wales. 

428398_10151042071415396_724245019_n

The view  from where I was staying high above The Magical Town of Crickadoon 

20-11-15 - 1 (216)This past weekend I stayed with my very dear friends, Sally and Gareth Reese in their beautiful home.     The house sits high up  overlooking the Usk Valley ….part of the beautiful Brecon Beacons National Park.

The landscape is never changing and yet constantly changing. 20-11-15 - 1 (208)I met Sally and Gareth shortly after I moved to Crickhowell 23 years ago….and have  been friends since.    They are some of the warmest most generous people I know.

Gareth, Sally and their son David on a walk through the bluebell woods. 

20-11-15 - 1 (215).jpg

The bluebell woods….at Coed-y-Bwnydd – As we walked through the only sounds were those of birds singing…..and the perfume from the bluebells……a feast for the senses.

20-11-15 - 1 (198)

I am reminded when I return to Wales of just how much noise and light pollution we live with in London and other big cities.      To hear the sounds of nature so clearly is blissful, and to sleep in such peacefulness brings a quality to life that many have forgotten.

Typical of many Welsh people the Reese family are very musical, especially Sally and David…..In this photograph you can see Sally’s harp…..which she plays beautifully.

20-11-15 - 1 (206)

There is  even the family kitty kat…..which is guaranteed to bring a smile to my face:)

20-11-15 - 1 (222)

I was reminded of the passage of time, and the importance of making the most of every single day…..Twenty years ago, I painted the three children, Becky, David and Nicky….they were all young teenagers….and now are all married with children of their own.

Watercolour – of Becky 1996  – 17 years old…Now a mother with three children. 

20-11-15 - 1 (234)

watercolours of David and Nicky 1996 – teenagers then and now both parents with their own children…..

20-11-15 - 1 (233)

Of course we talked about my plans for living in Marmite Heaven – which brought up a new recipe using marmite.     Gareth had heard that peanut butter and marmite work well together….Well yesterday, I tried it….and I love it:  which probably says a lot more about me than the mix….    Unless you are a lover of Marmite…it might be one to avoid:)

A watercolour from the weekend…

20-11-15 - 1 (204)

I am off to France next week to see more good friends, and to paint  a group of actors as they rehearse for a production on the 29th.      which means I will write my next blog in a couple of weeks.

A Bientôt

38 thoughts on “A magical visit to The Magical Town of Crickadoon

  1. Athena

    Janet this is so beautiful. I feel so grateful to get a glimpse into your life and recent art. I love the look of these hills, what a beautiful place to spend some times. It is really beautiful that you captured these kids as teens and now they are all grown up. Happy travels for your trip to France and I’m excited to see the paintings of the group soon. Hugs and love

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much, Athena for this beautiful comment. It is such a special place for me – one I will always love and want to return to. One of the joys of painting portraits is that over the years, I have painted young children who are now grown up with children of their own….and many other people, some very old when I painted them….all a great joy. Janet:)xx

      Reply
  2. Bushka

    Wow! What a journey don memory lane…Some of these images…esp the top on remind me of my last visit to Wales some years ago…. Great!
    Lovely friends you have…..Enjoy them….even into next week….Have a Fab Time. Hugs! ❤

    Reply
  3. Creuzer Élisabeth (ex Le Berre )

    Yes, I remind also Crickhowell, so beautiful little town, where I met you, and also Gareth and Sally. I have in my bedroom the three portraits you have done of my three children, many years ago. .. Thanks you Janet. If you come to France, come to visit us! Much love. Élisabeth

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Dear Elizabeth…we talked about you this weekend….and I must come and see you. I will try to get to you sometime this year….I miss you very much…much love to you and the family….Janet. xxx

      Reply
  4. Teagan Geneviene

    This is a gorgeous post, Janet. I’m fascinated by the portraits (as always). To me it seems like portraits would be the most difficult thing to do in water colors, yet yours are superb.
    I love the yellows you worked into the landscapes too. And of course the family cat is a real beauty. 🙂
    Hummingbird hugs my friend.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi dear Teagan….painting these three portraits and many others over the years has probably been the most special work I have done. It’s certainly what I love to do. Thank you so much for your very kind words…I really do appreciate them….The hummingbirds were definitely with me this past weekend. Janet:)xx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      If you love to listen to the sounds of nature….you would love this place…and of course the views are exquisite in every direction and they change by the second….it’s amazing. Thank you so much for your lovely comment. Janet:)

      Reply
  5. Pingback: My Life as an Artist (2) | Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever | Mark Geoffrey Kirshner

  6. olganm

    Thanks for sharing, Janet. A wonderful place and magical place and wonderful people. It must be fantastic to have not only photographs but also paintings that show so much more, to remember how time passes. Enjoy France!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much Olga….and yes you are right – it’s really lovely to see paintings hanging in people’s homes that I did years ago….and a real reminder of the passing of time….Hope all is well with you – have a lovely weekend. Janet:)x

      Reply
  7. snowbird

    I love your watercolours, especially the first one, the sky is just amazing, how well you have captured it. Sally and Gareth are lucky to live in such a beautiful spot. The bluebell wood is breathtaking, a perfect scene for you to paint. Yes, time sure flies….we certainly do have to make the most of our days. Loved the kitty!! Have a fabulous time.xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much, Dina….oh the beauty of nature…which I know you full appreciate. Being there just for a couple of days was like being given a huge tonic:)xxx

      Reply
  8. Mary

    What a special post, nothing like spending time with friends who are so dear. I loved seeing your portraits from years ago, it must be a treat for you as well. Wonderful countryside painting, Janet I can see why this was a beautiful weekend.

    Reply
  9. davidjrogersftw

    Janet, thank you for taking me along on your visit to such an enchanted place. You know that these paintings and photos of Wales touch me since my father and grandfather and aunts and uncles immigrated here to the U.S. from a village in a Welsh valley much like your painting, I’m sure. Wouldn’t you know Sally and Gareth would have a harp–wonderful. My grandmother was a harpist.. All this brings back to me memories of the constant sound of singing that filled my childhood. Well, it was a great visit and I’m happy you brought me along on it.. Let’s go again soon.

    Reply
  10. janetweightreed10 Post author

    Good morning, David…I am so pleased that you enjoyed this visit to Crickhowell (aka – The Magical Town of Crickadoon) – Yes, the harp is an instrument of Wales….and such a beautiful one at that. Listening to Sally playing and singing is a little like moving into heavenly realms:) Let me know if you ever get to Wales….we can meet up and you can meet some of my lovely Welsh friends. Janet. 🙂

    Reply
  11. davidjrogersftw

    Thanks for your offer, Janet. I do hope to visit some day, and it would be wonderful to meet you in person and see your work and visit with some of your lovely Welsh friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

